Stamp Duty

The payment of Stamp Duty is a joint liability of all parties to a document unless the Law specifically directs otherwise. Whilst a document may direct a specific party to pay, this is a private obligation which cannot be enforced by a third party (ie. Cayman Islands Government), and hence all parties should ensure that Stamp Duty requirements are complied with. We reserve the right to recover Stamp Duty from each and any party to a document.

The Minister of Finance is the Commissioner of Stamp Duty.  The Minister of Finance has delegated responsibility to the Lands & Survey Department  for the Assessment and Collection of collection of Stamp Duty on all documents relating to immovable property (real estate), in accordance with the Stamp Duty Law (2013 Revision) (PDF, 97 Kb, 28 pages). Real Estate documents which attract Stamp Duty include, but are not limited to;

For further information on the Stamp Duty payable and details relating to a specific transaction, please click on a Transaction Type above.

Stamp Duty is payable upon execution of the document, and should be presented to the Lands & Survey Department immediately thereafter. Outstanding Stamp Duty on a number of documents will attract interest if not submitted and stamped within 45 days of execution. We will not include any periods where we are holding your documents for assessment within this 45 day period, however it will recommence after we have notified you of an amount of Duty outstanding.

Further Information



Transactions where the Cayman Islands Civil Service Association Co-operative Credit Union are a party (or any other Credit Union under the Cooperative Societies Law) are exempt from Stamp Duty.